2D outline pixel shader on a pixel font

Hello

I’m really new to hlsl and I’ve been experimenting with it lately. I use a custom pixel font in my projects with multiple outlines, as seen below. I’m curious if it’s possible to recreate these examples using a hlsl pixel shader on a single spritebatch.drawstring result. The outlines are now drawn using many spritebatch.drawstring calls which is not so optimal. A shader would probably be faster, especially in the second example.

Some problems:

• I saw that each character is drawn as its own texture. I would have to draw pixels outside the texture box of characters. I don’t know if this is possible.
  • The texture size of each string/character would be needed to check the color of neighbouring pixels. (to create the outline(s), as far as I know)
  • I need to know how many pixels actually represent one “font pixel”.
  • Some outlines need to be layered on top of others (see example 2).

Is a shader like this possible?
Thanks in advance.

1 Like

In my opinion it is better to write own font preprocessing or find font with outline than doing this realtime. However shader is definitely possible, basically what you would be doing is convolution (same approach that is used for instance to do blur effect).

Edit: Quick search shows that there were few sprite font preprocessors for XNA that added outline to the font, however I didn’t found any that I would think would still work or was downloadable from reliable source.

Yeah. I’ve been looking for some examples but haven’t found any. I can’t find much information about this.

Use signed distance field fonts.

You can do a hell of a lot with them.

Normally you would just test the alpha value and if it greater than a chosen value, set the pixel.

However you can do ranges.

if (alpha > 0.7f)  vResult = outline colour
if (alphs > 0.8f) vRexult = font colour

Would produce outlined chars

Then you can get creative …

float test1 = 0.1f * sin(time);