[FIXED] After publishing in 3.6, The installer doesn't run and debugging it throws a new error

Hi
I’m new to the process of git repositories and bug reporting so I’m sorry if I’ve gotten anything wrong here.

I just moved my code over to the latest Monogame version (3.6.0.1352) from 3.5 and after publishing, neither the installer or ClickOnce will run with the error message “Cannot continue. The application is improperly formatted. Contact the application vendor for assistance.” The project will run without any issues when launched from the code editor.

The same thing happens when building from source and trying different target platforms, even on a completely new template project.

I’m using VS2015 with Windows 7 64bit

Some of the projects when run from the IDE give an error “An unhandled exception of type ‘System.ArgumentNullException’ occurred in mscorlib.dll” when run. I’m not sure if this has anything to do with the published versions not running because a project without that error still doesn’t run when published.

I’d really appreciate any help, thanks very much.

EDIT:
I’m more clear on the order of these errors now though, if I create a new project from the template, it will run in editor fine but the published version will give me the format error, then if I try to run it in VS again it will throw “An unhandled exception of type ‘System.ArgumentNullException’ occurred in mscorlib.dll” and it can’t be run again. So new, clean projects work until they’re published and then stop working.

It’s a Monogame Cross Platform Desktop Project.

Have you looked in the logs if this is not due to a cinflict between monogame’s dll?
Also check the “published” /“application” folder on the deploy depot if thet contain the 3.5 or 3.6

Hey Alkher, thanks for replying.