"Flip card" animation

I am extremely new to both Monogame and C#, so please excuse me if my question sounds stupid or the answer is apparent.

I am primarily a Java developer and am looking to convert a simple card game I wrote in JavaFX over to Monogame. I am currently trying to use the Nez framework over Monogame, but am willing to try and do this in “native” Monogame as well i.e. without Nez.

The problem I am having is… I am trying to do a “card flip” animation i.e. I have a card which is face down (back showing) and want to flip it over to show the face of the card.

In JavaFX (in 2D mode), I can perform a rotation in the Z axis, so I essentially rotate the card back image from 0 to 90 degrees, and the card front image from 270 to 360 degrees. Both rotations are done in parallel over a 250ms period. This creates the impression of the card flipping over.

I can’t seem to figure out how to do this in Monogame. From what I can see, you can’t perform a rotation in the Z axis in 2D mode.

Could someone please point me in the right direction as to how I can achieve the same “card flip” in Monogame?

Thanks!

UPDATE:

Mike (author of the Nez framework) offered a couple suggestions via email:

There are lots of ways that you could do that with MonoGame/Nez. You could create verts manually and push them through via DrawIndexedPrimitives. The Nez Batcher has methods available to manually set the verts when you draw. The Batcher also has a draw variant that lets you skew while drawing which would also do the trick for an effect like that.

If you are interest in shaders you could also just make a card shader that handles both the front and back of the card.