🔄 Handy Snippets Thread

As I am now heading heavily into MonoGame development [Some of you may have seen my Instagram/Twitter feeds] I came across this handy piece of code and thought, heck why not just make this knowledge available to everyone, while adding some additional data to it… also for complete beginners I wanted to make it clear to them where this code goes too… [FTR, as of writing this post, I consider myself a MonoGame Beginner]

So I decided to start with something really useful…

Focussing on: if (GamePad.GetState(PlayerIndex.One).Buttons.Back == ButtonState.Pressed) Exit(); but more specifically Exit() I also added Keyboard interaction, something useful to add to this is when the X is clicked on the window, but as that is only useful when not in full screen mode, this entry will just be on two methods… I or another user may add the interaction for when the window is force closed or the X is clicked at a later time [Or when I remember and implement that interaction myself]

Game1.cs:

/// <summary>
/// Allows the game to run logic such as updating the world,
/// checking for collisions, gathering input, and playing audio.
/// </summary>
/// <param name="gameTime">Provides a snapshot of timing values.</param>
protected override void Update(GameTime gameTime)
{
    // TODO: Add your update logic here

// Let us check the gamepad input first
    // note that this works even when the gamepad is connected after the game starts.
    if (GamePad.GetState(PlayerIndex.One).Buttons.Back == ButtonState.Pressed)
        {
            UnloadContent(); // A good place to call this - this is one of the other methods in Game1.cs
            Exit(); // And your window vanishes
        };

// Now let us use the keyboard method - Hello Escape Key
    // Capture the keyboard state and then respond to input
    KeyboardState keyboardState = Keyboard.GetState();
    if (keyboardState.IsKeyDown(Keys.Escape)) // Can even be the letter X upper and lower are the same
        {