Is this possible using a simple shader?

• Have a quad which is invisible
  • Compute the Quad Plane of it and pass it to Shader params ?
  • The object is constantly moving towards the quad
  • Maybe in pixel shader before drawing the pixel test it against the plane ?
  • I have limited knowledge in shader, any hint or idea what I should implement is very much appreciated ^_^y

I have limited shader knowledge too, but I’m positive it can be done. I think it’d be “as easy as” getting the 3D position in the pixel shader and applying the formula to know which side of a plane that position is. Negative discard, positive shade.

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/15688232/check-which-side-of-a-plane-points-are-on (first answer)

However if the normal of the cutting plane is not pointing to the screen, you’ll see an ugly hole in your model because you’re clipping pixels, not adding geometry. (Imagine you cut a shoebox in half. If you look from the front it’s ok, but if you look from the back you see the hole)

1 Like

Thanks for replying I’ll see if I can grasp all of that : -D I think your correct if I can filter the pixel if beyond the plane draw it otherwise discard it… Ill check if can put that in code : - D

I really want to do something like this

Thanks bro ^_^Y

What about this approach:

• You position the object at the same place as the plane in the same direction

• You then find out the normal of the plane (IE. The direction that the plane is facing)

public static Vector3 calcNormal(Vector3 a, Vector3 b, Vector3 c)
    {
    Vector3 v1 = b - a;
    Vector3 v2 = c - a;
    return Vector3.Cross(v1, v2);
    }

• Then find out half the width of the object, multiply it by the negative of the normal and then set that as the position (So that it ends up on the other side of the plane)

• Then add the normal to the object’s position to move it parallel to the plane (And therefore through the plane)

1 Like

Use the old hack: