Moving old game from XNA to MonoGame

Hello guys, well, I am very new to the community and started with monogame some weeks ago.
Btw, by updating an old project from XNA to monogame there already came the first bug. I also need to say, that I am very new to shader programming, but I think I learn fast :slight_smile:

The project I am trying to update was already treated in another post but really someone did not think that thought quite to the end and considered the consequences or posted an answer. Maybe(I hope) you guys could help me.

Here are some infos about. in XNA it looks like this. Everything is colored right:

Here is the same thing after I merged the files in a new ganerated monogame project. As you can see on the picture, some items are rendered black instead of a color. I need to say, that everything without any color (hue:0) is rendered correctly. Everything what should be hued is rendered black. Furthermore gumps and fonts aren’t rendered correctly.

Everything I needed to do was to change the vertex- and pixelshader from:
vs_2_0
to
vs_4_0_level_9_1
and
ps_2_0
to
ps_4_0_level_9_1

Here is the shader I am currently using:

Maybe you guys know, what I am doing wrong?

Thank you for your time!!!

1 Like

Hey, and welcome to the community! :slight_smile:

Someone else was working on porting Ultima some time ago: https://github.com/hifi/UltimaMono

The issue you run into is probably this one:

It was opened by the person that tried to port UltimaXNA before. As a workaround you should explicitly declare both a texture and a sampler as written in this document (the first method): https://gist.github.com/Jjagg/096c5218d21c5e2944a88dbc1b6947b3

1 Like

Hello Sir, and thank you for the quick feedback. I really want to learn more about monogame and especially for this example, maybe also I am really new to shaders and so on.