Shader help request

Heya,

Preamble: I’m very new to shaders.

I’m trying to build an isometric tile-based map with lighting. I’m working in 2d, but the map will somewhat resemble a 3d world in that tiles can be stacked atop each other. My design is thus: each tile is composed of a base image, and four light maps for the direction. I’m using my first shader, which is primarily composed of staples, duct tape, and hot glue, to light each tile using various parameters like color, direction, and the lightmaps. (Yes, I know tools exist to do this already, and do it better than any homegrown solution. I don’t care–I won’t learn much without writing it myself.)

This technique more-or-less works.

Now, I’d like to ‘bake’ tiles into columns so that I’m not asking the game to draw several bazillion tiles each frame. For the base tile images, this works fine–I just draw the tiles from bottom to top onto a render target, and because they are opaque, they resemble columns. Each of my lightmaps also has to be rebaked–and because they’re not opaque, any lighting on the top of the tile remains in the baked image. The tile N + 1 should block the top of tile N’s lighting. I figured I could solve this using a shader to solve it. This shader is not working, and I have no idea why. I could use some help debugging it.

The shader should work like this:
-get the Color from the current lightmap
-get the Color from the texture of the tile above, but offset
-if the Color received from the tile above is opaque, don’t draw lighting
-otherwise, draw lighting

Calling the baker:

Note: if this ends up being something resolvable with a quick google search, please tell me what search terms to use, so that I might improve my googling.

graphics.SetRenderTarget(newlightNE);
graphics.Clear(Color.Transparent);
batch.Begin(SpriteSortMode.Immediate, BlendState.AlphaBlend);
transparencyRender.CurrentTechnique.Passes[0].Apply();
for (int i = 0; i < tiles.Count; i++)
{