[SOLVED] Difficulty using RenderTarget2D with a camera

Solution: See reply below. TL;DR: Make sure to understand all 3 spaces – window space, camera space, and world space.

Hey all,

I just recently got into MonoGame (and C#, for the most part), though I have some prior experience with OOP and app development. I have also worked with matrices and vectors in a prior university-level course, but it’s been probably too much time since then – I only seem to have a basic idea of what is going on. :laughing:

In order to support resolution independence, I discovered after some research that using a RenderTarget2D is the way to go. Here is basically what I have working:

• Camera that supports rotating and scaling. :smile:
  • Transitioning from screen to world coordinates (and vice versa) using my camera class
  • Drawing to a RenderTarget2D

However, I can’t seem to get everything to work together. I’m not sure if what I’m doing wrong is due to a conceptual misunderstanding or just a misunderstanding based on implementation (e.g. MonoGame specifics).

Here is the short version of what I’m doing (with more complete code snippets posted below):

1. Instantiate Camera with bounds equivalent to the virtual resolution bounds that I want to target.
  2. Create a RenderTarget2D with a virtual resolution that I want to target, e.g. 640x360.
  3. Set GraphicsDevice.RenderTarget to my renderTarget.
  4. Draw to world also using my camera’s Transform; worldSpriteBatch.Begin(transformMatrix: camera.Transform);
  5. End my world’s SpriteBatch (worldSpriteBatch) and set GraphicsDevice.RenderTarget(null).
  6. Draw the renderTarget to my mainSpriteBatch with a destination rectangle equivalent to the camera’s bounds; mainSpriteBatch.Draw(texture: renderTarget, destinationRectangle: camera.Bounds, color: Color.White);

That’s the gist of it. Now, here’s what happens:

Option A: Details as above; setting ```destinationRectangle` to camera’s bounds