[solved] How to achieve this type of camera

Hi!

Lately I’ve played the old Breath of Fire IV game for the PSP, and I really liked the way that the 3D environment and 2D sprites work together in the game. I’ve read somewhere that the game used an isometric camera, and at the first glance it seems that way:

However, when I started playing, I realised that a perspective view is actually used for the backgrounds. The perspective is subtle, but it’s there, and it makes the environments seem much more dynamic than a simple isometric cam:

However, the character sprites are perfect rectangles no matter how they are positioned in relation to the camera - there is no skewing or distortion:

I’m really curious as to how this could be achieved. Could this be a combination of a perspective camera for the 3D environment and an orthographic camera for the billboards? I’m puzzled >:(((

Are you certain characters are sprites and not 3D models, with only rotations of say… 15° allowed ?
It seems to be 3D to me, with cellshading only on characters, especially on this video:

at 7’ when the camera is rotating, the girl is facing the cam then the model is showed rotated by a fixed amount to show a 3/4 profile.
In fine, it is a 3D camera with perspective, just placed at an angle like it is used to be in 2.5d isometric games (about 30-35°).

Hey - I’m 100% sure that these are 2D pixel sprites. In fact you can see the sprites for the girl here with rotation:

I can see how they can seem 3D at first, just because of how well crafted they are.

I realise also that this is perspective camera for the 3D environments, what I’m wondering about is what camera has been used for the characters, and how the two were combined so seamlessly. Since, as I wrote, the perspective does not seem to apply to the character sprites to avoid distortion and skewing.