Any way to achieve N64-esque 3D lighting?

(Disclaimer: this is probably a very basic question about lighting and/or shaders. I’m not too good with them)

Hello!

So, I’ve been working on an N64-looking game for the past year now. It’s… a bit wonky, but I’ve kept it accurate to the style. Except, one issue has been causing me problems for the better part of the year, and that’s the lighting:

https://puu.sh/ytTQs/f180d170bb.jpg

Try as I might, I can’t get the lighting in my game to resemble that of an N64 game (like Ocarina of Time for example). Either the shadows are too intense, and everything looks dark, or they’re near non-existent and the game looks next to unlit. For context, I’m using a custom shader which is near identical to the BasicEffect.

An example of what my issue is: the sandstone block on the left is just that, a block, yet its corner looks flat and the sides are blending together.

Is the problem with my lighting, or with my texture work? Is it even possible to achieve the type of lighting I want without adding extra lights to my shader? I’m not sure which part of my method I should change to accomplish what I’m after…

1 Like

You want to implement flat shading and gouraud shading: