Drawing rotated textures appears pixelated

First I want to say I am very new to game dev and monogame.

I am trying to draw a simple rectangle and rotate it. I made a large 150,600 rectangle in paint.net for my texture saved as a png. I then scale is down and rotate it and get the following:

How can I prevent the rectangle from being pixelated when scaling down to small sizes like this? Is it my image file?

This is my image: https://www.dropbox.com/s/s2sn07uwzt7sgv4/rectangle.png?dl=0

I tried the below but it did not help:
graphics.PreferMultiSampling = true;
graphics.GraphicsDevice.PresentationParameters.MultiSampleCount = 8;

Any tips/suggestions would be appreciated!

I don’t understand exactly what you mean.

Is the image you posted actual resolution you use it for in engine? Can you post the spritebatch.draw code you used? Is it only this one that looks wrong? Does it look wrong only when using rotation?

Note taken, well for this thread anyway :slight_smile:

Why are you scaling it down? it would also help if you attached the original graphic image for analysis, you should have turned off any filtering and have full sharpness on the image, but honestly? a rectangle? may as well create it from code…

Oh and look into Anti-Aliasing.

Look at this guys blog and articles such as this one on anti-aliasing.

I tried making the image actual resolution but had the same issue. So I tried making the image large then shrinking so that there would be more detail in my image. The issue is only when rotating (Since the image is a rectangle no jagged edges could occur when vertical or horizontal). In Paint.Net resizing and rotating the rectangle does not show jagged edges so it must be my code.

` Code:

//Initialize
        graphics.PreferMultiSampling = true;
        graphics.GraphicsDevice.SamplerStates[0] = SamplerState.LinearWrap;
        graphics.GraphicsDevice.PresentationParameters.MultiSampleCount = 1024;

//LoadContent