Error when building shader: Invalid input semantic

I get this error when trying to build the following shader:
Lighting.fx(30,18-27): error X4502: invalid input semantic ‘POSITION’: Legal indices are in [1,15]
Lighting.fx(30,18-27): error X4502: invalid ps_3_0 input semantic ‘POSITION’
Lighting.fx(30,18-27): error X4502: invalid input semantic ‘POSITION’: Legal indices are in [1,15]
Lighting.fx(30,18-27): error X4502: invalid ps_3_0 input semantic ‘POSITION’

I am using dotnet core on MacOS High Sierra (Can provide more information if need). I tried experimenting with gradually removing and reintroducing my uniform variables, and as soon as I introduce light_diffuse, I start getting the errors. I was able to get the shader to build If I change the #define for SV_POSITION to POSITION1, but then I get a runtime exception about shader compilation, obviously that is causing it to generate bad GLSL. I have very little experience with HLSL, I am a little more comfortable in GLSL, I am at a loss for what is going on here.

#if OPENGL
	#define SV_POSITION POSITION
	#define VS_SHADERMODEL vs_3_0
	#define PS_SHADERMODEL ps_3_0
#else
	#define VS_SHADERMODEL vs_4_0_level_9_1
	#define PS_SHADERMODEL ps_4_0_level_9_1
#endif

Texture2D SpriteTexture;
float4 light_pos;

float4 light_diffuse;
//float4 light_specular;

float light_constant;
float light_linear;
float light_quadratic;

float4 AmbientColor = float4(1, 1, 1, 1);
float AmbientIntensity = 0.1;

sampler2D SpriteTextureSampler = sampler_state
{
	Texture = <SpriteTexture>;
};

struct VertexShaderOutput
{
	float4 Position : SV_POSITION;
	float4 Color : COLOR0;
	float2 TextureCoordinates : TEXCOORD0;
};

float4 MainPS(VertexShaderOutput input) : COLOR
{
  float distance = length(light_pos - input.Position);
  float attenuation = 1.0 / (light_constant + light_linear * distance +
    		    light_quadratic * (distance * distance));

float4 ambient = AmbientColor * AmbientIntensity;
  float4 diffuse = light_diffuse * attenuation;