Inverting Y Axis

Hi! This is my first post here, and I’m brand new to MonoGame.

I come from using Unity for about four years. Unity’s y axis puts 0 at the bottom and positive y goes upwards. MonoGame (and several other libraries) doesn’t do it this way, instead putting y = 0 at the top.

I’m currently trying to move a Unity project over to MonoGame due to being fed up with Unity’s limitations. On top of it being completely unintuitive and confusing for me to do it how MonoGame does it, the code is not built to work that way.

I’m wondering: is there any way to flip the Y axis to do it the way I’m used to?

I’ve searched through all the posts I could find online and came across things such as:

-> Get used to it, that’s how most libraries do it!

Hopefully there’s a better option…

->Multiply with a scale matrix that has -1 as the y component.

This prevents everything from rendering. One person had said that this was due to culling (had to reverse the cull direction), but even setting it to CullNone didn’t fix it for me - still nothing rendering.

Is there anything I can do about this or must I follow the ‘get used to it’ advice?

Thanks in advance.

I THINK Its something monogame inherits from vanilla c# I think… The same “Y starts at the top and down is up” is true even without monogame… Even in paint programs and such.
Thats what makes it so cool. The logic of Y=zero at the top, makes for code that corresponds with pixels in images, and index numbers of arrays etc…

So I dont think its just a setting you can toggle… At least, I’ve never seen it happen.

I’m afraid you will have to change your code (your initializers and updates,
and all the associated variables…)

Shouldn’t be that hard, just a chore to do.