Learning the 3D world and Matrix manipulation.

Hi folks.

This is a plea from a very confused old man who has become completely unstuck with Matrices and the 3D world. I’m ok getting to the shops, it’s just the code side of things I’m having problems with!

I’ve been looking for online monogame examples which I’m personally finding quite difficult, (maybe I’m just a bit dim!), they either assume a mathematical knowledge of Matrices, or give helpful text such as “Now let’s add the rotation function…” followed by 30 lines of code which aren’t very well documented.

I’ve got most of the 2D stuff assimilated, so mostly I know what I’m doing, I’m just completely new to the 3D world. Could someone please point me in the direction of some documentation that includes code examples and assumes the reader is a complete idiot?

Many thanks.

Here’s a couple links.
In the second link at the bottom is a class i posted that might be helpful codewise.

http://www.monogame.net/documentation/?page=T_Microsoft_Xna_Framework_Matrix

Very good point Will, I have no idea what you’re actually talking about but I’m sure I’ll come across it soon, so thank you for bringing it up.

Sorry if that is too much, those two links have to do with matrix’s and 3d.
What are you having trouble with or trying to understand currently?

Sorry, I miss read your post, I thought someone else had asked another question, but all good, and still applies.

So I’ve read up on the first article you suggested and things do make more sense, and when I go back to look at the code I can see all it’s really doing is A=BCD. If I’d known that before I’d started things would have clicked a bit sooner. I should have studied the syntax closer rather than panicking!