Making a game with MonoGame, what does it take?

Hello,

I’m a beginner in game development and for the first time with C#, .NET and MonoGame I’m really motivated to work, whereas with game engines I don’t get excited.

But I hear everywhere that using a framework rather than an engine is not the right thing to do, that it’s too complicated and I would like to know, according to you, what it takes to make a real game with MonoGame.

Do I need to be an excellent developer and work much more than I would in a game engine to build something?

Thank you for your answers.

I feel you on the engines not doing it for u. This could be the place for you my friend.

That depends on what you value. If you want to crank out your game ideas as fast as possible then using an engine will be the way to do that. If speed is less of a concern and you want to learn a bit more about how things work under the hood and then have more control and freedom (and pride) because of it then something like monogame will probably be better.

Engines are opinionated. You learn to do things in them in a certain way and you may not learn why or even realize they could be done differently.

Not per say.

Depends on your definition of a real game. Give some examples!

If you want to quickly build something robust with clean code that scales well: yes you need to be an excellent developer. If you have low expectations on those things, then no. As you’re willing to put in the work and learn, what you can do will expand with your experience and understanding of the concepts involved.

Here’s a thread with some monogamers discussing why they chose monogame

Welcome to the MonoGame community,

happy coding!

4 Likes

Thanks a lot for your answer.