Making an object transparent

I’m new to Monogame and I want to port my Minecraft clone project from Unity. I want to use effects to make water layers transparent and I wrote this pixel shader:

PixelShaderOutput PixelShaderFunction(VertexShaderOutput input)
{
    PixelShaderOutput output = (PixelShaderOutput)0;

output.Color = tex2D(textureSampler, input.TexureCoordinate);

output.Color.a =Alpha;

return output;
}

I set the value Alpha to 0.7f, trying to make the water semi-transparent, but the water is still solid like this:

the code which draws the terrain is here:

buffer.SetData(c.verticesWTArray);
  device.SetVertexBuffer(buffer);
  bufferIndex.SetData(c.indicesWTArray);
  device.Indices = bufferIndex;
  basicShader.Parameters["Alpha"].SetValue(0.7f);
  foreach (EffectPass pass in basicShader.CurrentTechnique.Passes)
  {
  pass.Apply();
      device.DrawIndexedPrimitives(PrimitiveType.TriangleList, 0, 0, c.indicesWTArray.Length / 3);
  }

Is there a property to make the changes of Alpha value bring semi-transparent rendering or is there a way to write a shader which makes transparent object rendering?

All you need is device.BlendState = BlendState.AlphaBlend;

1 Like

That really helped me.Thanks!

1 Like

Since you are not multiplying RGB with alpha in your shader, you will most likely want BlendState.NonPremultiplied

or

output.Color.rgb *= Alpha;
2 Likes

Thanks for your help, my world is more fancy now!
Also, the rendering sequence matters when rendering semi-transparent objects.
We should render all solid objects first, then render transparent objects to avoid depth testing problems.
solid->transparent->solid->transparent… sequence:

solid->solid->…transparent->transparent… sequence:

1 Like

All opaque first, then all transparent sorted back to front. DepthStencilState.Default (read/write) when rendering opaque, DepthStencilState.Read when rendering transparent.

2 Likes

Also you can sort all opaque front to back to avoid overdraw.