MGCB can't find default importer

hey,

I’m still relatively new to this sort of thing so I’m learning a lot as I go, but I’ve been trying to set up the basics for the game I’m trying to make, but the mgcb editor isn’t working properly.

If this image uploaded properly, the icons on the .mgcb files isn’t there. I’ve tried setting it up through the control panel and registering it according to the guide from the monogame website, but it didn’t work. I’ve heard this is obsolete now. I’m using Visual Studio 2022 and I downloaded monogame through it.

Could I get some guidance with this?

1 Like

Hi @sauropodah, Welcome to the Community!

Can you try following my guide below:

Ask me anything there or here.

Happy Coding!

EDIT

I am assuming you are on Windows…

I am on Windows 10, yes. I went through the guide and downloaded the components I didn’t have (the workloads were already fine). I’ve downloaded the monogame extension fine and the project I’ve been working on was created from a monogame template (it’s been a while but I believe it’s the cross-platform desktop application). I never got the developer mode warning, but I imagine that wouldn’t have much of a bearing on the .mgcb files not being set up since the rest of the monogame stuff is functioning normally. I can inconsistently pull up the mgcb app, but it gives me a warning that reads “Catastrophic failure (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8000FFFF (E_UNEXPECTED))” beforehand. And this happens after double clicking one of the .mgcb files.

I think the issue is mainly because the package for the mgcb tool isn’t set up correctly and I’m not sure how I’m supposed to because the other guides seem to be outdated or there’s something going on on my end I missed.

Do not worry about this, this is being fixed:

Catostrophic Failure (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8000FFF (E_UNEXPECTED)) - Developer Community (visualstudio.com)

So, you got everything working now?

EDIT

OH the developer mode is for UWP apps only…

oh, wack-