[RESOLVED] Beginner issue involving font loading (Edit: Broken dll dependencies? Please advise)

Hey!

I’m new to Monogame and game development in general. I’m currently experimenting with the basics involved in getting a 2D game setup up and running.

It’s going fairly well so far, but I’ve just run into an issue when attempting to utilize SpriteFonts for the first time. I have my program to set up to load in a SpriteFont from the content pipeline and then use it to print game text. However upon attempting to build my project I get the following error:

Severity Code Description Project File Line Suppression State
Error Processor ‘FontDescriptionProcessor’ had unexpected failure! Game1 c:/users/blackhole/documents/visual studio 2017/Projects/Game1/Game1/Content/Fonts/Default.spritefont

Severity Code Description Project File Line Suppression State
Error The command ““C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\MonoGame\v3.0\Tools\MGCB.exe” /@:“c:\users\blackhole\documents\visual studio 2017\Projects\Game1\Game1\Content\Content.mgcb” /platform:DesktopGL /outputDir:“c:\users\blackhole\documents\visual studio 2017\Projects\Game1\Game1\Content\bin\DesktopGL” /intermediateDir:“c:\users\blackhole\documents\visual studio 2017\Projects\Game1\Game1\Content\obj\DesktopGL” /quiet” exited with code -532462766. Game1

I don’t doubt that this is probably caused by something fairly simple that I have overlooked, but as I’m unfamiliar with creating software using MonoGame I’m unsure as to exactly what it might be!

I’d appreciate it if anybody could help me resolve this issue.

Thanks!

1 Like

Take a look at this post:

You will find:

-Putting text onscreen NEW
http://www.geekswithblogs.net/cwilliams/archive/2017/02/22/243041.aspx

Give it a go, it is very recently posted…

Hope it helps…

Additional info: Attempting to build the SpriteFont directly within the Monogame content pipeline application gives a different and more specific error message: