Shader to work with Texture or DrawString

To preface this, I am new to writing shaders and using HLSL. I have written a couple of shaders in the past for Gamemaker projects but this is a different shader language IIRC.

I am trying to write a grayscale shader that I can use with both spriteBatch.Draw and spriteBatch.DrawString. I am close to a solution but I don’t fully understand what I am doing so I need some help:

Here is the shader code:

sampler inputTexture;
bool isFont;

float4 MainPS(float4 pos : SV_POSITION, float4 color1 : COLOR0, float2 textureCoordinates : TEXCOORD0) : COLOR0
{
	float4 color = tex2D(inputTexture, textureCoordinates);

// this works correctly for Textures
		color.rgb = color.r * 0.2126 + color.g * 0.7152 + color.b * 0.0722;
		return color;

// this works correctly for DrawString
		color.rgb = color1.r * 0.2126 + color1.g * 0.7152 + color1.b * 0.0722;
		return color;
}

technique Technique1
{
	pass Pass1
	{
		AlphaBlendEnable = TRUE;
		DestBlend = INVSRCALPHA;
		SrcBlend = SRCALPHA;
		PixelShader = compile ps_3_0 MainPS();
	}
};

And here is how I am using it:

if (uncastableCard)
{
	_spriteBatch.End();
	_spriteBatch.Begin(SpriteSortMode.Immediate, BlendState.AlphaBlend);
	grayscaleShader.CurrentTechnique.Passes[0].Apply();

}

// draw an outline around the card to indicate it can be played if release
if (inPlayArea && displayType == CardDisplayType.battle)
	_spriteBatch.Draw(cardHover, currentPosition + new Vector2(-1, -1), null, Color.White, rotation, spriteOrigin, 1.0f, SpriteEffects.None, 0);

_spriteBatch.Draw(imgCard, currentPosition, null, Color.White, rotation, spriteOrigin, 1.0f, SpriteEffects.None, 0);
_spriteBatch.Draw(imgRarity, textOrigin + new Vector2(57, 88), Color.White);
_spriteBatch.DrawString(fntNes, cost.ToString(), textOrigin, Color.Black);

// draw the card name
var wrappedCardName = cardName.WrapText(fntCGpixel, 48);
if (wrappedCardName.Contains("\n"))
{