Solution structure for multiple platforms

I swear I searched for answers, but either my google skills have failed me or I need a step-by-step process. So, sorry for taking your time.

I found two related questions in the forum (Question about shared code folders in different projects and another which I can’t link because of link limit for new accounts) but the answers left me with more questions or simply didn’t explain things in a way I could understand with my limited mind.

So, the main question is: how do I set up a project to deploy on different platforms (namely OpenGL + Android + iOS later)?

I’m a complete newbie in Monogame, as you can probably guess by the question itself. One of the answers in the previous questions led to this: https://github.com/Apostolique/Apos.Framework which shows a very interesting setup… Yet I have no idea how to accomplish that.

Here I am, with .Net and Monogame installed. I’m starting a new project on either VS or Rider using the templates. Then comes the smaller questions:

1. Do I start a Desktop OpenGL one first and then an Android? The opposite? None of these options?

2. Where do I keep the shared data? I tried setting up a .Net Shared Project, but it didn’t let me import the stuff I wanted to use (like Nez). Then I tried the .Net Standard, but I don’t think it’s intended for what I’m doing.

I know that the answer will leave me with questions of how to deploy later, but I’ll cross that bridge when it comes to it. I just want to start correctly.

Thanks in advance for the help!

That first topic is mine, trying to do the same thing a couple of years ago! The best way I’ve found (and the one I use in any MG project now, even if I’m only deploying to one platform) is to put all your core code in an MG shared project and then to add a reference to that shared project in all your platform-specific ones.