Texture Alpha is Tranparency (sometimes)

Hi, i am new to Monogame, (few months in).

I am rasterizing a YPR 3D matrix and camera, to a quad model, and putting an image on it with alpha

the above image works

problem is, I want to use this image

a fading particle.
but i am getting these results

The code is the same, and as far as i can tell the image format is the same.

Not sure what the trouble could be. Aside formatting. (hm, i will investigate further)

Do you guys have any suggestions?

Seems like you are using wrong blendstate, make sure you are using Nonpremultiplied

1 Like

Yep… non-premultiplied has bitten me many times in the past! :smiley:

Check your blendstate in your spritebatch begin call but also make sure you check the content thinger (content.mgcb) for the texture in question, setting this to false.

The option can be found in the properties for the texture.

Sorry, please don’t use premultiplied content, use correct blendstate, that one multiplication won’t matter on modern HW, losing data in your assets for no reason will actually bite you hard at some point.

It’s been a while but I think I’ve had issues in the past where I don’t set that option above to False. If this isn’t consistent with your expectations I can do some tests later and follow up.

If the confusion here is that the value is set to true in the picture, my mistake, I was just intending to show where it was but do see how it was misleading.

Let’s align first and then, if required, I’ll fix the image :slight_smile:

It’s best to understand what it does.

Premultiplying alpha in your texture means that RGB values are going to be multiplied by value of Alpha channel. So if original pixel value is, lets say, (1, 0, 0, 0.5), resulting pixel is going to be (0.5, 0, 0, 0.5). Which means the moment Alpha is 0, resulting value no matter what is going to be 0, this is where you are irrecovarably losing data.