Will visual studio 2022 work with Monogame?

Hello, fellow Monogame users.
So I Am new to game development (or to programming in general) But I follow the get started section on Docs but run into a problem. On the Visual Studio website, they have removed the 2019 version (You can still download it as an old/previous version) So as the novice beginner I downloaded the 2022 version thinking (New is better right) and even in Monogame doc they have written you’ll need to install Visual Studio 2019 or later

So I thought let’s download the 2022 version. But the current problem is that there is no MonoGame extension available in the extension section.

What should I do? Will Installing MonoGame templates from CMD work? T_T
Help needed yours Truly Uneducated Game Dev.

You can code in VS2022 but you’ll have to use the .NET CLI to generate MonoGame projects, .NET CLI | MonoGame Documentation

2 Likes

You can still download 2019 CE, just scroll down the page and look for Older Downloads, you need to sign into the developer portal.

Are you 100% Sure? I mean I don’t want to code or make some little progress and then find out that its all a waste

Yes. What are you worried is going to happen in the first place? Even if you discovered some bug in VS2022 that prevented you from progressing (which is unlikely) you could download VS2019 and continue from there as a backup alternative. MonoGame doesn’t even develop anything specific that caters to either IDE except the templates, which you can generate from CLI. There’s not anything that could possibly happen that would “make it all a waste”

Let me explain it like this, the code files and the project files are standardized and they’re the same for both of the IDE so there’s unlikely there’s going to be any issues there. Same thing with the compiler, it’s the same program that is running for both of the IDE.

1 Like