Monogame beginner tutorial - "Attach..." instead of debugger

Hey, all! I just started learning MonoGame and I’ve run into an instant snag. I followed this tutorial:

https://docs.monogame.net/articles/getting_started/1_setting_up_your_development_environment_windows.html
https://docs.monogame.net/articles/getting_started/2_creating_a_new_project_vs.html

I followed the tutorial exactly. My solution explorer shows “Solution ‘Pong’” (0 projects) and instead of “Pong” in the debugger, it shows “Attach.”

When I go click into the dropdown for Attach, I see this:

I don’t see an mcgb option when I scroll down.

To me, it looks like a debugger isn’t automatically loading, but I don’t understand why or what I need to do to fix it. I was also frankly expecting a pre-built Pong template to populate and it obviously didn’t. I have Windows 11. I’ve uninstalled/reinstalled once and repaired once. Any suggestions are welcome.

Hi @bahbahbluesheep, Welcome to the Community!

Please have a look here:

Observe the:

Specifically:

4-

Things to include in your Thread Post

And to tackle the issue at hand, can you state what project you attempted to create, and give my guide for a UWP Project here EDIT a go:

Pay special attention to the last post there as well.

Happy Coding!

EDIT I know you pointed to the OpenGL project but need to confirm.

Hi, friend! I indeed searched for about two hours before coming to the forum. I get where you’re coming from, but I hesitated to come because I was afraid I’d get negative feedback about asking an obvious question. Sometimes we need help, and that’s okay.